Oral liquid gabapentin? First time stray rescue and I’m nervous about him taking meds

Moogmom

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello!! Long story short we have a stray in our community who had a major facial laceration. We took him into our garage in a dog kennel and have been slowly getting him together and today he got back from the vet after his neuter and he has 8 stitches in his face. I’ve never done any form of rescue before except for last year when another cat in our community gave birth in my yard and we had to catch the babies, spay the mom, and rehome the babies. It was stressful but not nearly as stressful as this.

Hank is a super kind stray but he’s nervous and in pain. I’m very anxious that when I have to give him his 1ml dose of gabapentin tonight he’ll fight me or reject it. I heard that it tastes super bitter so hiding it in his food may not work (like it does with his antibiotics, shhh lol) but I just want to know if anyone has advice for administering this medicine to a cat with a cone and who’s not “my cat”. I’m just nervous.
Photo of sad (but better!) Hank because he’s cute.

Attachments

silent meowlook

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I’m sorry. Can you ask them for the capsules. The liquid is so horrible tasting. If it was me, I wouldn’t even try. He will really not trust you. The capsules you can sprinkle on food.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi! I tried several compounded (flavored) versions of liquid gabapentin and never managed to get my cat to take any of them. Depending on Hank's dosage, if you get the capsules, it might require you to split the amount, as I believe the smallest capsule is 100mg. (Or it could be split for you through a pharmacy,) If you do use the capsules, just make sure that it is mixed with an amount of food that you know he will eat in a relatively short period of time in order to ensure proper dosage.