Newborn kitten bleeding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zara12345

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi! I found a newborn kitten in my university today. The mom seems to have given birth and disappeared leaving all her babies behind so he seems not more than a day old. All the kittens passed away except for one and he's quite responsive but we're trying to get our hands on some formula. Although I noticed that he's bleeding from his anus now. Not sure why?
We don't have any emergency vets in the area as we are in the suburbs so we have to wait till tomorrow morning to get to a vet.
Anyone knows what this means and what we can do? I understand his chances but we want to try everything we can. Pls help.
I have fostered before so I have some experience. Thank you.

IndyJones

Adopt don't shop.
Top Cat
Purraise
He needs a vet asap. The poor thing sounds like he has internal bleeding. Unfortunaly theres not much that can be done if you don't have the equipment for icu this can't be treated without intensive care and even then his chances aren't great.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Hi! I found a newborn kitten in my university today. The mom seems to have given birth and disappeared leaving all her babies behind so he seems not more than a day old. All the kittens passed away except for one and he's quite responsive but we're trying to get our hands on some formula. Although I noticed that he's bleeding from his anus now. Not sure why?
We don't have any emergency vets in the area as we are in the suburbs so we have to wait till tomorrow morning to get to a vet.
Anyone knows what this means and what we can do? I understand his chances but we want to try everything we can. Pls help.
I have fostered before so I have some experience. Thank you.
Re the bleeding I dont know much, and yeah, its probably serious.

Re formula. You know goats milk, in almost any form, is OK to use?

Also, human mother milk replacer can be used in a pinch. Just dilute less...