new to raw food - the basics

shannonrenee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
hi all,

my names shannon and i'm new here

i have a gorgeous kitten, named Leo. and i am a qualified vet nurse, though i no longer am employed as one as i'm not physically capable of that at the moment.

in my studies i did a course soley on animal nutrition and am aware of all the benifits.

but now that i have my baby boy i just want to reconfirm everything as it has been a while since i have looked into this.

at the moment i am feeding him on raw meats, organs and heart with vets all natural. but i feel that it doesnt give me as much control as i would like and to be completely honest i hate the smell of vets natural and the idea of paying $15 for a kilo of oats and barley.

these are the basics that i remember, please correct me if i am wrong and let me know anything that ive left out.

- calcium to phosphorus ratio is extremely important, aim is 1.2:1 to 1.3:1 ideally.

- vitamin d3 supplement usually necessary, requirement is 10iu per kg of body weight per day

- without feeding bone, calcium supplement MUST be added. cats require 400 to 800mg per day of calcium depending on weight.

- taurine supplement should always be added just to be safe, excess taurine is excreted from cat's body and not harmful.

- ideally diet should be 80/10/10

- liver must be 5% to provide sufficient vit A. providing more that 5% can lead to vitamin A excess which can cause health problems.

- heart is considered muscle meat and not an organ.

- heart is high in taurine therefore it is ideal to provide 5-10% heart in diet

- pork should not be fed raw due to parasites.

- kangaroo must be frozen before feeding due to parasites

- diet should include around 5% roughage (oats, barley, whole wheat, above ground veg)

i am looking to start Leo on the following -
75% meats (including chicken, kangaroo, turkey, lamb and beef)
10% hearts (chicken and beef)
5% chicken liver
5% other offal
5% roughage