Maybe a Breakthrough

katie=^..^=

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Before the crash I had threads up about the colony that I've been caring for since about spring 2003. The colony population is now five males and five females -- all neutered or spayed. In addition there are abandoned and free-roaming males who visit often.

I've had a lot of setbacks because of the anti-cat atmosphere I've been dealing with. This is a sr./disabled housing project. The colony lives in the garden. Management still thinks it can solve the stray cat problem by not feeding them and prohibits residents from feeding. A couple of us do anyway.

Population control by killing the tiny kittens as soon as they're born was practiced by either a resident or maybe more. I know the Great Mother Cat was so desparate to raise her kittens that she gave birth to two litters on the roof of a second-story apartment building -- successfully raising them.

Her daughter's litters were (l) wet by a garden hose and left to die and (2) separated from their mom and tossed to the bottom of stairs leading to the building where I live. Even though I rescued them and found a foster mother for them, three of the four died.

Not long before that two males that were not part of the colony, but often ate the leftover food after the colony was fed, were shot with a BB gun or air rifle and their poor little bodies left just outside the fence of the sr. buildings.

One of the colony females disappeared in September 2003.

I've tried to provide shelters for the cats, but twice they were thrown away by someone unknown. Both times I cried for weeks I got so discouraged.

Now, just recently, I heard the story that one resident actually caught red-handed another resident using a sling-shot to shoot the cats. She confronted him and called The Humane Society according to rumors -- which I haven't checked out yet, but I pray they are true.