Is this cat a specific breed?

newythecat

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Someone abandoned my cat Colby on my grandmas porch and she saw him run into her hay shed so she went to see what it was and heard mewing, she looked up and there he was on the top of a hay bail ^.^ now he lives with my dad since my cats at my moms are too old to introduce a new kitten to... He is almost a year old now and it just occurred to me that i have never wondered if he is a particular breed of cat or not... What do you think... Im not good at telling if cats are or not haha i was wondering because he looks a bit like my neighbors cat (as in markings, his... Idk "shape" and stuff) and theirs is a breed (i forget what its called though)

Oh and whats the differance between an angora cat and a normal cat?

Last edited:

catspaw66

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
He is a Domestic Short Hair, as he has no pedigree papers.  His color is orange (red) and white tabby

This is an angora cat that looks kinda like yours.

This article can explain the Angora cat better than I can.    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkish_Angora

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Catspaws example could also be Turkish Van (or even, I think it IS Turkish Van).  These two are akin to each other, the angora more long haired.  Both breeds are rather rare outside Turkey.

The pattern as such is called for the Van pattern - the pattern as such not so unusual.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Newy, please ask your neighbours what their cat is for breed. Do they have papers or why do they think it is a breed cat?

To your Newy follow up question:

Angora in nowadays language is the Turkish angora. More or less white and long hair.

But Angora is also an older word for white long haired (cats). Most of them were surely white persians.

catspaw66

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise