How do you go away???

nljnky

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I need some advise.  I have 5 cats  I have been feeding them raw for almost 2 years.

I never go anywhere over night, and a vacation is out of the question.

I am going away for one night in December.  I don't know how to handle the food situation.

Even if I could get someone here to feed them I don't know how it could work.  They hide when they don't know someone.  I have 3 cat who are speed eaters and 2 who take forever.

Would it be OK to leave freeze dried raw out for them like Stella and Chewy or Instinct?  They like both of those.

What do you all do?  Im afraid the food will spoil if a stranger comes in and That the slow ones won't get any food.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

ritz

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Yes, freeze dried food would work.  For one night, could you separate the slow eaters from the fast eaters, that is, two bedrooms or one bedroom and one garage?  The other option is to feed them right before you leave on your trip, and leave out solid frozen raw food.  (Other posters--is this sanitary/safe?)

I couldn't do this in Ritz' case--she'd eat the food frozen LOL.

And I would not stress too much, one big/small meal won't hurt them.

Last edited:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter

nljnky

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank you for your reply.  I think I will just leave out lots of freeze dried.  You are right that one day with big or small meals wont matter.

I just worry too much.

carolina

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have four cats and a dog. Two fast eaters, one normal eater, one very slow eater-all raw fed. I travel for work about 3 weeks of the month, mon-thursday.
I do have a little semi-final who hides....
The first thing you have to do is establish a routine. Feed them at the same time, but different places.
They learn quickly, you will be surprised.