Help for a beginner

yelloweyedcat

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I am new to this raw feeding...New as in I don't even have a clue on the basics but I am highly interested in doing some of this for my two girls.

I don't know where to start though. Wahhhh...

I would be extremely grateful if I could get some information and advice from some members who know all about raw feeding, etc. (Hello -Waves-)

If I ask the questions then hopefully it should be easy for me to follow. Just act like you're speaking with a two year old though. :p

I'll appreciate all advice given. :)

Okay, so on with the questions...

What meat do you recommend to feed Cats? Though I do suppose it varies on the Cat and what their preference is.

Where can I obtain this meat from? I hear a lot of people mention butchers and that they sell it quite cheap. I've also heard of bones but I don't know what that is all about?

Aside from the meat, what else are you meant to put in with it?

How is it prepared?

What other equipment do I need to make this food?

How much of a batch can you make?

How do you store this raw food? (I have heard some people say they have made large quantities and have stored it in their freezer but then I am worried, as my freezer is extremely cold, that it would ice over and when thawing, become a watery dinner. Yuck)

Is it easy to introduce raw food and swap from canned to this? Or is there a step by step on doing this?

How much does it work out to be? Is it expensive or the same price?

I think that's it for now and there may be important questions I have missed but I don't know what you are meant to have/buy/look out for, etc. I will ask for more advice on how to start onceI  have grasped the basics.

Thank you in advance for your replies.

ritz

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Welcome to the Raw Feeding Forum.

For general information about raw feeding, see the link.

For more information, go to www.catinfo.org, written by a vet about how to make your own cat food.