Hairballs...

usanavywife2004

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Since I am new to the cat world...my husband was telling me about hairballs, like it sounds like the cats are getting ready to vomit...of course, my husband is out to sea right now and i think Angel has a hairball....she is making a wretching sound, I gave her the pounce hairball treats that say you should give the cat 5 treats per day to elminate the hairball....can someone explain to me what exactly the hairball is? Is it just a collection of hair from them cleaning themselves? Like all that hair that gets stuck in my shower drain? LOL.
How do these hairball treats work? Thanks again!
Erica

hissy

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hi Erica,

You know when your cat licks you how rough the tongue feels? That's because a cat's tongue has little barbs on it, and when they groom, these barbs catch any loose hair and undercoat. So you can help your kitty by feeding fiber to her (canned pumpkin) is good, and grooming her daily to pick up the hair with the brush.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

usanavywife2004

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
She hates the brushes though....I mean when I pet her I get some hair off, but she totally attacks the brush and runs away. LOL. any suggestions?
Erica

hissy

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Zoom Groom, it doesn't hurt and delivers a massage that cats love. Either that or grooming gloves-

ktlynn

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
There's also a very good hairball remedy called Vet Basis Hairball Gel. My cats love it (chicken flavored) and it doesn't contain petroleum or anything artificial (as too many hairball treats and remedies do) but does have good ingredients in it like Vitamin E and Taurine. Taurine is especially vital for cats.

You could also put a small amount of finely chopped or pureed veggies into her canned food - the fiber will keep things in her system moving along. Try zucchini, carrots, green peas, lettuce.

rugbykid

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise