Getting kitties spayed

shanghaic

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I might have found a home for one of my kitties but the lady wants to know:
1. She has a 5 month old boy that needs a playmate, my kitties are 10 weeks old, do you think there will be a problem with the 2 boys?
2. She is also looking at one of my little girls but wants her spayed. Isnt this too young?

I have never done this before, im sitting here sobbing my heart out, I just cant take my baby girl in at 10 weeks to go through such a big operation, I just cant do it
Can anyone tell me what this operation consists of, my boyfriend said its like taking in a family member for an operation and that it is quite a big ordeal. I need some advice.

liza24

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
found this online, hope it helps!!

What is actually removed during spaying?
Spaying is an “ovariohysterectomy,” which means that both the ovaries and the uterus are removed. The cervix is tied off, leaving the vagina to end in a blind sac. Since it is the ovaries that are responsible for the heat cycles, possible mammary tumor development, and behavior problems, it is crucial that the ovaries be removed intact; some veterinarians will leave the uterus behind, though, it is generally regarded as best to remove the entire tract, uterus included.

[Back to Top of Index]

How long will my cat stay in the hospital?
Our hospital prefers to keep surgery cases overnight so that they can have “bed rest” in a properly confined area. We believe that this first night of confinement helps the incision in healing. Some hospitals and most spay clinics will release the cat on the same day as surgery so that she may be observed at home in case of problems. Either way is legitimate and largely depends on the preference and philosophy of the doctor in charge of setting policy.

[Back to Top of Index]

Will she have stitches?