Feeding 2 cats

ladytimedramon

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Good morning.

I am having a bit of a conundrum feeding my 2 cats.

Cat 1 is Delilah, aka Ms. Chunkybutt. She is weighs close to 11 pounds and the vet said for her frame she should be under 9. I've had her almost 2 years.
20211126_115110.jpg

Cat 2 is Fancy. When I adopted Fancy she was 4.5 pounds and you could feel every bone. She's up to 6.3 as of last week. Vet says her goal weight is about 8 pounds. I've had her about a month.

20211219_205128.jpg

1 cat needs to lose, 1 cat needs to gain.

I've always had Delilah on a schedule and I've been getting Fancy on it as well. (Mind you it goes off a bit warm I'm on school breaks - I'm a teacher). The vet says to let Fancy free feed dry for a while on the side to put on some weight.

6:30 or so: wet
10:00 dry in a timed drop feeder
2:00 dry in a timed drop feeder.
6:00 or so: wet
10:00 or so: wet
2am: dry

I've read and been told that feeding wet only is better for them. I bought a couple of those clamshell style timed feeders for wet.

So.... the problem... how do I keep them out of each other's food when I'm not there?

Initially I thought putting pate in Fancy's bowl would do the trick (Delilah hates pate). Well, if she's hungry enough she WILL eat pate, which I discovered last night when I caught Delilah finishing off Fancy's plate. If she sees a bowl with kibble, its fair game.

I’ve also caught Fancy at Delilah's plate (I feed her in her cat tree) And right now Fancy eats just about anything. She's tried to get to Delilah's food. They're only together for a month so this leads to near fights.

So now what to do?