Cat Won't Stop Crying At Night - Have Tried Everything I Can Think Of

tnbsp

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi there,

This is my first time writing on this cat forum - I apologized if I'm writing in the wrong spot...

However, could I get some advice with this cat behavior issue i'm having?

I adopted two young kittens (boys litter-mates) in early November. Now, they are just over 6 months old. My husband does not want them sleeping with us in the bedroom. So, I've accepted that. In November we didn't have any problems... only that sometimes around 4-5-6am one of the cats, Spartacus, would meow. We weren't concerned... it was only occasional and we assumed he was just anticipating us waking up.

Over the winter holidays, I went home to visit my parents - My husband stayed with the cats, he had to work. After I got back the crying started to increase a lot. Husband says it wasn't happening while I was gone.

Basically, Spartacus is now starting to meow sometimes earlier than 3am. And it is LOUD and consistent. It's becomes the meeeee-ow, , kind of low-pitched, I'm sad, tone of voice. He'll stop for maybe 20-30 minutes and begin all over again.

We do not respond to the meowing.
We don't talk at the door, or throw pillows, etc - no reactions at all.
Neither of us gets up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night.
I also make sure not to feed them immediately after waking up... I usually wait 45-50 mins before feeding.

My husband does wake up usually at 5am for work (mon-fri) and this usually stops the meowing. Even though I am the one that feeds them... closer to 8:00am.... so.. I don't think it's about food??

Any advice?

My husband really doesn't want to open the door... but I'm thinking that might be our only option....