Cat Troubles When The House Is Empty

ThunderPuffVika

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all, this is my first time posting in these forums, so I hope I've got this in the right place.

So I have two cats (Nyla and Sora) and two dogs. They get along fine with the dogs, so no problems there. However, the cats, but especially Nyla, have very destructive habits that I've been trying to fix by training for a while. They scratch up the walls and doorframes even though they have a scratching post and I spray that cat repellant stuff all over their favorite spots, they are litter box trained but will poop on the floor when I'm not home, and will sometimes fight with each other when they're alone (even though they'll regularly lay next to each other and groom each other).

So, the room I'm fixing to move into is very nice, pretty large, and has no damage from animals (which is how I want to keep it). I've already got my dogs crate trained and they do fine in a crate that has a divider (they're beside each other and can see each other but still separated).

My problem is that I work 5 days a week, for 9 hours a day including driving. I can't leave my cats loose in the new room because they will quickly leave their marks on the walls. I know a lot of people think that crating a cat is cruel and a last resort, but I have no other options. I don't want to lose my deposit and/or get charged for damages, and I definitely don't want to give up my cats. They're both feral rescues that I tamed, so they have an extremely hard time bonding with anyone else (my boyfriend has only just now been able to pet them, and he's been around for 3 years).

So, my question, after those long winded paragraphs: should I put these two cats in a crate together? Or should I buy a crate large enough for a divider so they'll still be beside each other? They'll only be kept in the crate while I'm at work, and I'll make sure it's big enough for a litter box, food and water dishes, and a bed for each one.