Cat pulling fur

Mark129

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all!

I have a question regarding said topic in title.

My girlfriends cat is pulling out his fur, alot went on - basically he got very stressed and we noticed he starting pulling fur, vet said he was stressed, but now he has settled and still has bald spots on his hind legs from doing the same.

One thing i've noticed is that the store sent out the wrong food, it was not hypoallergenic (he normally gets hypoallergenic food) i've done some animal care courses before and im just trying to find out whats wrong with him, it just the food is what i'm thinking, but im by no means a cat expert.

hopefully someone can help and shed some light on this for me!

Mark

CindyH66

Peanuts Mom
Adult Cat
Purraise
Good morning ! You could be right on target. pulling out fur is a sign of stress. what is causing the stress can take a little detective work, but worth keeping after. I had one kitty, snowball who pulled all of her belly hair out ! Took her to the vet.. she was in the early stages of renal issues , and just wasn't feeling good. Once we found the underlying issue, and started treating it, she stopped pulling out the hair. Good luck finding your cause.. and hope your fur baby is feeling better, whatever is bugging him !!

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi! I would say go with your instincts that this might related to the food. Get him back on his 'normal' food, and see if he stops pulling his hair out. Depending on how long he has been eating the wrong food compared with the length of time for this new hair pulling issue, it could take a couple-three weeks for it to slow down and then stop once he is back on his regular diet.