Can I give my cat a taste of raw bacon from time to time?

misterwhiskers

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi, let me clarify first by saying that my cat is not on a raw food diet per se. But sometimes I will give him a little raw hamburger, and recently he begged me for a taste of raw bacon, just a teeny piece of the fat. Is this safe to do? Thank you.

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I'm no expert, but I can't see that the occasional taste would do any harm. It is rather high in salt, but then, so is parmesan (which Asha adores, but rarely gets). Shadow's partial to smoked salmon, and again, very occasionally he gets a taste.

Not sure what others will say, but that's my take on it :)

mservant

The Mouse servant
Veteran
Purraise
I'm not an expert either but - as there has been increasing concern about the presence of Hepatitis E in pork, and the research to date doesn't seem to have identified whether the curing process or meats such as bacon deactivate the virus it would seem sensible to avoid cats eating raw bacon / pork products just as much as humans.  While the risks are presumably low, esp where the meat being consumed is not pig organs / liver or products made using pig blood, I still don't think it's something I would want to give my cat.  Nor would I want to handle pork or processed pork products without very good hand hygiene.

Thankfully pork is not something I can remember reading about anyone feeding their cats as a regular food source.

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Dr. Lisa adds bacon fat to her raw food:

Cats need a reasonable amount of animal fat in their diet.  In fact, I have been playing around with adding a little bit of bacon fat to individual meals to give my cats a variety in flavor.