Binx and MacKenzie

lo-botomy

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all! :)

I'm curious about my kittens I adopted from a shelter. They were both written up as Domestic Short Hair--Binx is black and MacKenzie is a diluted calico.

MacKenzie's mother was feral, and Binx was rescued from a hoarding house. The vet described MacKenzie as a tortie instead of calico. How would you describe her?

As for Binx, the vet and I both agreed that he has a very unique face and large ears, and the vet suggested that he might not be a DSH, but instead a black egyptian Mau? I figured you all would know better than me, since I'm relatively new to cats! I'm just curious! Thanks!

This is them! :)

maewkaew

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Congrats on your lovely new cat friends!   

I would describe Mackenzie as Blue Tortie.    ( sometimes called Blue-Cream Tortie) .  Blue is the dilute of Black and Cream is the dilute of Red (orange / ginger).  

She has so little white on her ( what is it, one paw?)  that it would be a stretch to even add  "and White" to her color / pattern name.    I think probably if she were showing in the Household Pet class, she would just be listed as a Blue Tortie.

She definitely would not meet  the definition of Calico according to breed standards in CFA that use that term ( that = a lot more white , and fairly good size , distinct patches of the other 2 colors)   But some people use the term "Calico"  casually for any cat with black-based pigment + red based pigment + white,  no matter how small the amount of white.   so I guess that is how she got called Calico by the shelter.   ( or they may just mix  up Tortie and Calico.   Calico is really like a sub-category of Tortie & White cats.)