2 week old kitten questions

Calicoandkitty

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi! So this is my first time posting here but I’ve always come here for my cat questions. I found a newly 2 week old kitten on Saturday 10/14. We left him for the night to see if the mom would return and she did not. He is now in a box in our basement with a heating pad and we’ve been feeding him powdered kmr about every 2-3 hours. He will pee like crazy when stimulated but will not poop. He had some yellowish liquid poop come out but nothing solid. I’ve tried the triangle method with no luck. The vet said this can be normal and he will eventually but I’m worried. Also, I have a 5 year old calico. She is very sweet and I was wondering when I could introduce them? Should the baby go to the vet first? And also, is canned kmr better than powdered for pooping? I’m so new at this and took a week off work this week to care for this baby so any tips are appreciated! Thank you!

Kris107

Cat mom, cat foster mom
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I think others can tell you more about the bottle-feeding/pooping aspect. Personally, I wouldn't be super worried as baby is eating a liquid diet right now. Wanted to weigh in on your second question... Don't introduce to your cat until the baby has been seen by a vet and cleared of any potential transmissible things such as worms, viruses, etc. Most "street" kittens seem to have something! I'd be wary until you know more. Is your cat up-to-date on her vaccinations?

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise