Yet More Misinformation By Bird Scientists About Feral Cats

catman925

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
This is pissing me off.

I know there is a history of conflict between bird conservators and cat rescuers, but I didn't know it was this ugly.

This article: (These Bird Scientists Say Feral Cat Advocates Are Lying About Science Just Like Climate Deniers) not only tries to claim that TNR (Trap/Nueter/Return) is ineffective in reducing population blooms in feral cats (which is hogwash; I've been doing cat rescue for 7 years now and I know it's an effective solution, not even counting in the simple fact that a sterilized cat "automagically" stops that cat from contributing more to the population), but it goes on to claim that toxoplasmosis (a parasite that is zoonotic-can infect most warm-blooded mammals and can be transmitted from an infected cat to a human) is [emphasis mine] "..THE leading cause of death from foodborne illnesses" in the US then provides a link to an information page about toxoplasmosis on the CDC website. The article also implies, almost explicitly, that cats are the sole reason for those deaths.

A quick study of the CDC page itself (CDC - Toxoplasmosis) however, reveals, in the very first sentence no less, that [again, emphasis mine] "Toxoplasmosis is CONSIDERED to be A leading cause of death attributed to foodborne illness in the United States." Not "THE", but "A" leading cause. And "IS CONSIDERED" not "IS", meaning this is something that is still being worked out and does not have enough data to make a concrete determination yet.

I was curious, then, as to just how dangerous is this situation and how much do feral cats, or just cats in general, contribute to this "epidemic" the content of the article seems to imply?