Who feeds strictly wet

Val622

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have had cats most of my childhood and we always just fed dry with no problems. Now it seems that dry food is horrible and unhealthy for cats. What has happened. Most of my adult life i have always owned a dog. I always thought cats would be easier than dogs because if we were to go away for the day or overnight we can leave out food and water. of course anything longer and we would have a pet sitter but feeding strictly wet makes it a lot harder.

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Yes, it does. I know there are a lot of 'reasons' to feed wet, and valid points, but that is exactly why I feed dry too to my cats. I have had over 60 years of experience with cats and like you said fed dry years ago for many years with no ill effects or shortening of life. Bad things happen to every living thing and most are not related to food. Some are, but most are related to disease, accidents, and old age. The people who can stay home to feed wet, hire people to come in a couple of times a day to feed, and have cats that aren't tremendously scared of any stranger and hide so cannot be fed, are lucky. It scares cats so badly to be boarded, I would rather them stay at home and have dry food to eat when they are hungry for overnight or a couple of days. The dry food manufacturers are taking notice of the trend to feed wet now too. There are grain-free dry foods out there that are perfectly fine. My outside cats get wet food a couple of times a day but get dry free fed too, there are too many of them. Cats are lucky sometimes to get any food at all. They also get natural prey. I leave a small bowl of weight management out for my inside cats.