Which first

Berneragdoll

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all, new here

I love both cats and dogs and for ages i have been doing research on which dog to go for first and then i studied dog behaviour. After years of research i have choose the bernese mountain dog there very laid back dogs and a lot of berner friends own cats too as they get on really well with cats.

i also really love cats my favorite cat is the ragdoll ( i have known a few) , there gentle , affectionate cats and i have read that they are friendly with other animals and are a goid choice to have if you get a dog or have a dog.

i plan on owning both ragdoll and bernese mountain dogs but im struggling to choose which one should come first.

So some friends who own both cats and dogs and some of my berner friends who have cats have all said to get the cat first then the dog.

But ive had 2 people tell me dog first then cat.

Im really struggling to pick which i should get first. So really wanted peoples opinions on which i should get first?

I would also really appreciate any book reccomendations on learning about cats and there behavior\body language as i want to understand cats really well like i can read dogs really well.

Looking for to meeting you all and any advice you can give.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Berneragdoll

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I forgot to mention that i have also been advised to get both at the same time but that wont be possible.

The closest i could do is 1year apart.

carebearbaby1

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Most Berners that I've been around are very high energy, bouncy dogs. Maybe get the dog first, give it time to calm down a bit, then get the cat. Then you're not bringing a giant bouncy puppy into your cat's established home.

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise