Which breed of cat?

cindyz

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi!
I am new to message boards so forgive me if I make mistakes.

My two sons, ages 7 and 2 1/2, are very interested in getting a cat. My husband and I have had cats in the past. One was an excellent cat and the other had all kinds of behavior problems. Both of them were purchased from the S.P.C.A. We are looking into getting another cat but since we have kids now, we have more things to consider when choosing a cat.

We would like to get a breed that is compatible with kids and can be taught how to live in a house. We do not let our cats go outside. We are not interested in breeding but I thought a purebred might have a better mental capacity and stability.

Can I have opinions on which breed would best fit into our family?
Is it better to get two cats for companionship or can one cat live happily with our family?
Is it better to get a kitten or an older cat?
Is a female better than a male because of spraying problems?
When do you get them nuetered or spayed?
Is declawing the front feet cruel or is it acceptable?

Please send all the information you think we need to help us choose the right cat for our family. As you can see I have lots of questions and I would like to make sure that we get the right cat to make this a fun and happy time for all.

Thank you for your input.

abi

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Glad to hear that your family is taking the plunge into the world of cats.
I fully agree that keeping a cat indoors is healthiest for your pet and outdoor wildlife. There are many great references to providing safe and stimulating entertainment for the house-bound kitty. For example; ceiling length climbing towers, window bird feeders etc.