When To Get A Second Kitty

Friend's Friend

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi friends! It's a pleasure to meet you all--this is my first time posting! :) (I also apologize if this is in the wrong spot!)

I'm looking for a bit of advice because it's been a rather hard year of my life and I don't want to project my own emotions on to my kitty.

In October 2017, I adopted an 8-year-old Maine Coon male from the humane society (and named him Friend, haha). I'm in the process of returning to graduate school, and between being in classes and hopefully working part-time (I now work full-time, but am mopping up my last two weeks due to ADA noncompliance on the part of my employers) . . . I worry about him being alone too much.

He plays if I instigate it, and on his own, but generally he sleeps in the bathroom sink or on my desk. He seems like a perfectly happy kitty now--he's had no behavioral issues whatsoever. The shelter originally told me that his owners were surrendering him because he started peeing in their baby's crib when they were pregnant, and it got worse when the baby arrived; they also remarked that he fought with their cats. I've had no litterbox issues whatsoever; when I was out of town for surgery, a friend with two adult cats watched Friend, and said--interestingly--that within a day he was interacting with her kitties just fine. He was okay when her other cat hissed at him for getting "his" attention; he allowed them to use his litterbox and eat his food; "He was the most chill cat I've ever met," was what my friend told me afterwards.