What's It Like?

DaysinMaine

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
What is it like breeding Persians? The community has a lot of people and it seems many people are highly critical within that specific breeding group. I love dollfaced persians and I wish I could pursue showing them, however, I'm worried because I have no experience in this topic. I know there is one lovely persian breeder on here who may be able to give me some insight into the world of showing and breeding them, however I do not see many dollfaced persian breeders so I'm at a bit of a loss :(

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
"Doll faced" generally refers to a Persian with a moderate head type that doesn't fit current show standards (many "doll-faced" Persians also have moderate body type, and less coat than a standard Persian). People do not usually show "doll-faced" Persians, except in the Household Pet class. If you are looking for a longhair breed to show that doesn't have the flat face of the show Persian of today, you might consider a different breed such as Ragdoll, Ragamuffin, British Longhair, Siberian, etc., or you could show in the Household Pet class.

Last edited:

posiepurrs

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have a Persian cattery and show. As Lutece said, doll face Persians do not usually do well in the show ring except as household pets. Now the silver and golden ( my color class) is traditionally less extreme BUT they are very difficult to show. If you are interested in breeding I would suggest contacting the CFA and joining the mentor program. Please feel free to pm me if you have any questions.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
I’m not a breeder, just a very enthusiastic spectator at cat shows. :)

The breed standard for Persians calls for that extreme, flat-faced look (called brachycephalic), which is why you don’t see dollfaced Persians in the show ring, although you could show in the household pet class.