What would you do in my situation?

snugglecat

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding 4 feral cats since 2008, Mama cat and her 3 daughters. They have never had to hunt or search for food. They pretty much live on my front porch hiding in the shelters and flower beds.

I got a vacate notice from my landlord today and have to be out of here by Sept. 30. I am on a housing program and can't take the cats with me. I don't even know if I will find a place when my time is up. It's very hard to find places that take section 8. Do I board up the opening that leads under the house so they can't get trapped down there and leave them here OR my only option is to try and trap them and put them to sleep.

I have been searching for someone to take them since 2011 without any luck. My neighbors are saying they need to be removed because nobody wants them here and they will starve to death if they stick around here. They sit on my front porch looking at the window waiting for me to come out with the food.

I feed them on a timed schedule  same time morning and night and they each get their own dish. They are not feral cats who just pop in every now and then. They are like my own pets but live out doors.

I am so upset and can't stop crying. I don't know what will happen to my babies.

zoocat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
What I would do is call every single animal rescue/shelter group anywhere within reasonable distance and beg for help. I don't know where you live, but where I am...not a huge city..medium sized, there are at least eight places that I can think of off the top of my head. Even if they couldn't take the Cats, they might have some suggestions. I wish you luck..it's so hard when they have become dependent on you for their survival and suddenly you find yourself in a position of trying to survive yourself. Have they been spayed? I assume so or there would be a lot more than 4.

ondine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise