What To Do With A Bully ? What Would You Do ?

kittypa

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have a question for all of you who care for feral or community cats. I'm not very experienced at this.

I have been caring for three homeless neighborhood cats. Two (Mama Kitty and Black Kitty) have been here for two years, the third (Gray Kitty) fairly recent. The third is the problem. He is picking on the other two, trying to run them off. I spent two years making friends with Mama Kitty, now she has to sneak into the yard to eat. I need to treat her for fleas, but when she comes around she's so nervous I can't get anything on her. It's breaking my heart.

Gray kitty is a stray, not a feral. In fact when it comes to human interaction he is the most gentle and affectionate kitty I have here. That's out of seven cats. Four indoor pets and the three community cats outside. I'm trying to find him a forever home, but I haven't had any luck yet. I put up an adopt-a-pet profile and share it on Facebook (Azusa, CA - Domestic Shorthair. Meet Gray Kitty a Cat for Adoption.). He's very sweet and I've grown fond of him, but I don't know how much longer I can tolerate his bullying. I feed him out front on the porch, and the other two out back, but he can't wait to finish his food so he can go out back and harass them.

What would you do ?

Edit: Gray Kitty was TNR'd on July 17.

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hopefully, once the hormones leave his system, he'll be a lot more chill. I'd like to think that'll take care of the problem.

If not, can you feed him in a large dog crate? Then you could close the crate for about half an hour every mealtime, and give the other cats a chance to eat in peace.

FeralHearts

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I know this problem well. Always one in the bunch.