What Kind Of Cat Has Longish But Curly Fur?

IronHippo

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Radish is my almost one year old Humane Society special! Although I secretly harbored hopes that he would end up being as large as a Maine Coon, all signs point to him being ultimately nowhere near a Maine Coon in size--he was 8 lbs, 3.5 ozs at his visit to the vet at ten months old, and he has never been very hungry, so I don't think he's going to be very big at all. He is just very fluffy! And being that he was from the shelter with no papers, I know he is not a specific breed (much less a Maine Coon), but I am curious about his fur.

I have limited cat experience but Radish is an oddball (in more ways than just his fur) in that I haven't encountered any other cat with the type of fur that he has. He is definitely what I'd think of as medium haired so I guess he carries the long hair gene, but his fur goes from straight around his head and flanks to softly waved on his mane, and then it looks like someone took a crimper to the fur under his belly and around his armpits and butt. His fur is otherwise pretty straight all along his back and tail. I was just wondering if there is a breed that does have crimped fur like he does. The only ones I could find were the Devon Rex, Selkirk Rex, Cornish Rex, and LaPerm, and none of the photos I've seen of those cats' coats look much like Radish's. But maybe it just seems that way because he isn't consistently curly?

(Of course I also believe he is just super special, but who doesn't believe that about their kitties? :))

Obligatory unflattering angle, also being a toy hog

He gets much tighter curls around his butt but you can see the kink under his armpit--that pretty much runs all along his belly.

He does have some tight curls under his chin too! Can kind of see them poking out here.

Thanks for your thoughts!

m3rma1d

NeoMaxiZoomDweebie
Super Cat
Purraise
Do you brush/groom him?