What is technically a bengal cat?

microrca

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Is any cat that is part ALC be called a bengal? I understand that TICA registered bengal cats must be F4 or later, but does that mean that anyone can breed ACLs out in the country and make their own bengals? I couldn't imagine those cats would have the same temperaments as lines bred from the original Jean Mill stock.

goingpostal

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Many Bengal breeders have their own ALC or F1 they are using as foundation stock from what I've seen. I'm far from an expert on the breed though. The woman I got mine from told me that was her plan, they were moving to MT and she wanted to get an ALC to breed instead. She had two SBT pet Bengals and my girl who is supposedly an F2 that she had planned on using to breed originally. I think they are considered ALC hybrids until stud book level where they are officially Bengals.

Silver Crazy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Is any cat that is part ALC be called a bengal? I understand that TICA registered bengal cats must be F4 or later, but does that mean that anyone can breed ACLs out in the country and make their own bengals? I couldn't imagine those cats would have the same temperaments as lines bred from the original Jean Mill stock.
They would still be a Bengal in name once they got past the initial hybrid status.
Reputable Bengal breeders have bred their cats not only for the coat patterns a but a lot of work has been put into breeding a cat with good social temperament as well as retaining some of the leopard cat behavior quirks and physicality so I wonder why to try and re invent the wheel and start from the beginning agian breeding from an ALC. I think it would be easier to buy an F4 that already has got good behavior traits and start there.