What brand of wet canned food should I buy?

traveil

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My adopted tortie which is 8 years old is having her Sheba canned food daily twice but i just read online someone saying that many cats have chronic kidney disease from eating this brand. As i am a new cat owner, i do not know what is good for her but all i know she prefers gravy meals thats why i have been feeding her Sheba... I have decided to change her brand to a healthier brand as i do not want her to die so early. I mean I just adopted her months ago :(
What should i take note when buying canned food?

EmersonandEvie

Mom to Evie, Emerson and Dexter
Top Cat
Purraise
What was the source saying that cats were having kidney disease?

Sheba is a good brand, in my opinion. I feed Purina ProPlan True Nature, Fancy Feast, and Friskies. Low carb, biologically appropriate, and you can find them about anywhere.

MissClouseau

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have no experience with Sheba but speaking in general terms, I would take rumors like that with a pinch of salt. Kidney disease is common in cats, and people are quick to jump to the conclusion a health problem was caused by the food.

My Hima basically chooses her own wet foods as she's picky. She currently eats Pro Plan and Miamor - both pate.

SpecterOhPossum

spec's pet human
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Sheba is low quality, I'd classify it as a drugstore catfood. I recommend Tiki Cat After Dark or home cooked/homeade raw if you're willing.

KarenKat

Kitty on the half shell, tortie power!
Top Cat
Purraise
Cat food recommendations will be all over the place - generally you want high meat protein, medium fat and low/no carb. But the trick is you have to afford it and the cat has to like it. Also it has to be available.