weird question: how to tell someone you dont want to visit their house?

terestrife

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
i know that sounds weird. but theres a new coworker that i am friendly with and he wants me to hang out at his house. No its not that i fear he will try anything, he isnt attracted to women. lol Hes a nice person so it has nothing to do with him.

The thing is, i was raised to not be hanging out in peoples houses. I am a homebody and prefer not to be in anyones house. I dont want to offend him and cause problems at work. He has asked me multiple times, and i havent said yes, or no. I am good at steering uncomfortable conversations away from where i dont want them.

We are at home now because of the virus and he is texting me again about coming over.

Any advice? i hate confrontations. :( im not that good at dealing with people.

Dario the GreyCat

Owned by Dario since 10/09/2019
Adult Cat
Purraise
Would you feel more comfortable going out somewhere to hang out? Given the virus, you can always tell him you’d rather do something if you’re going to hang out. Or you can be upfront and just tell him you’re a homebody and don’t feel too comfortable being in someone else’s space.

You have to do you, if he’s your friend, he’ll understand.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

terestrife

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Just tell him you're staying home because of the virus. If he persists, tell him you value your health too much.
i'll try that, thank you!

Would you feel more comfortable going out somewhere to hang out? Given the virus, you can always tell him you’d rather do something if you’re going to hang out. Or you can be upfront and just tell him you’re a homebody and don’t feel too comfortable being in someone else’s space.

You have to do you, if he’s your friend, he’ll understand.