Weird Nightime Bahaviour

Chloet1808

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to cats, I got my first cat baby (Meggs) at the start last year ans honestly she's been a dream. We got another cat (Tuba) at christmas time last year and she is a terror (I love her to bits though). I need some advice on Tuba's new nightime rituals. The past few months Tuba has been going to sleep with me and being a good girl, but in the middle of the night she tries to wake me up by rubbing her whole body on my face repeatedly and bites my nose and puts her bum on my face and keeps doing this over and over and over until I wake up. Once I wake up, it all accelerates and she keeps going until I eventually have to shut her out of the bedroom. I love sleeping with my cats and I hate shutting them out at night time but I can't handle Tuba's obnoxious behaviour. Does anyone have any advice on what she wants from me? And how to stop her obsessively rubbing her body on my face?

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi! Welcome!!
How old is Tuba (love that name)?

how to stop her obsessively rubbing her body on my face?
Can you give her catnip toys?

If Tuba's younger than a year, you may have to shut her out until she grows out of this stage so you can get some sleep. She wants to play - can you find some self-entertaining toys for her night-time energies? Can you try wearing her out before bedtime?
Try different toys, or even just crumpled balls of paper or tin foil, or maybe there is something here;

Have you tried taking her for walks (depending on how old she is/you can find a harness that fits)? It's possible that she needs more mental stimulation.

Harness And Leash Training For Cats

Do you have cat trees? Both upright and horizontal scratchers? These can help with exercise.

How To Make Your Home Bigger (at Least For Your Cats)

19 Best Interactive Cat Toys: Your Ultimate List (2019) | Heavy.com