Was getting a cat a mistake?

Asklepiad

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm new to this forum, so I'm really sorry if I put this in the wrong place.

I'm a university student, only in my 2nd year, so I have two more years of study. The other day I adopted a cat because I was having a really rough time and he looked like my old kitty and I missed her lots and lots. Additionally, this cat would have ended up in a shelter or worse if I didn't take him, and he's 8 years old, litter trained, well behaved, cuddly, everything I could want in a cat.

But I'm horrified of treating this cat wrong. I'm so worried because in two years, I'm moving from Northern Canada all the way down to the middle of the united states to live with my partner, and I'm worried about carrying this cat everywhere. I'm worried about not being able to move to live with my partner because of the cat. I'm worried about not being able to take care of this cat for another 10 years. I love him so much and I don't want him to suffer.

I could have just ignored the Kijiji ad. I could have just let someone else adopt him; who knows if he'd end up in a shelter? I'm terrified, and I hope it gets better. I feel like was stupid and I made a huge mistake. I know this sounds super irrational but I'm just... I'm lost and scared. I hope to bond with this cat more so I don't have to give it back to his owner. I feel like a pretty bad person.

verna davies

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
You are looking at possible problems in the future. Think of yourself and your new best friend at this time. Many people move long distances with cats without any problems and I'm sure you will work it out in two years time when you need to. Just enjoy getting to know each other and enjoy having him.

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
First off....Breathe.