vomit and breathing odd - please advise

lovesmekitties

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I've been feeding my 6 mo old kitten raw for about 2 months.  I'd been feeding Nature's Variety frozen raw but just recently switched to Primal (frozen raw).  Today I fed Stewie some of the Nature's Variety I had left over and 2 hours later he vomited yellow and slightly mucousy.  For a few seconds he kind of panted and has been making warbled sounds in his breathing.  Right now he's breathing with his mouth closed and the breathing sounds much better but he's still clearly not feeling well.  I warm their food in baggies in a bowl of hot water briefly so it's not served cold.  I was ready to dash off to the emergency vet clinic but my husband is hesitant due to the expense. Does anyone have any insight for me?

Thank you,

Jan

vball91

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Sorry to hear your kitten isn't feeling well. I'm not sure that the vomiting was caused by the food. Two hours later and no food in the vomit sounds like something else. I am concerned about the breathing . Did it sound like something is maybe stuck in his throat? Being a curious kitten, is it possible he ate something he shouldn't have?

You said "their food." Do you have another kitty who was also fed the same food and is feeling fine?

ldg

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I agree with vball91. :nod: If he threw up the food, then I would consider that something's amiss.

Every time one of my cats had any strange behavior when I was transitioning, I immediately thought to blame the problem on the new food. Yes, there was some vomiting (immediately after eating) when it was clear the problem was the food - but that was when I was introducing new proteins and going too quickly. Other than that, we had a lot of visits to the vet, and the problem wasn't ever the food - and many of the times, it wasn't even a problem. It's natural to worry - but it sure sounds to me like he's swallowed something that doesn't agree with him.