Vet Says Fip . . . But I'm Confused (video)

lavishsqualor

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
This beautiful orange male is my buddy. He's part of an established feral/stray colony on one of our properties in Hollywood, Florida. I'm a Regional Manager for a large property management company in Orlando and spend a lot of time traveling to different apartment complexes.

I first met this orange cat about a year ago when he was painfully skinny. He honestly was one of the skinniest cats I'd ever seen and he ate a lot so I couldn't figure it out. In June he was wormed and TNR'd and began to, I thought, thrive. But when I came back last week his abdomen looked swollen to me; plus, residents kept thinking he was a pregnant she.

I took him to a vet recommended by Google and a few of the locals on Monday who did a FIV test which was negative. He also ran another blood test (see photo) which he told me would tell us whether the cat had FIP. The vet just called me and said that the test was positive and that the cat had the dry form of FIP. This was confusing because I took the cat in because his abdomen was swollen. I point blank asked the vet if the test he ran was for the coronavirus and he said yes. I asked him again if it was certain the cat would develop FIP and he said yes. I didn't think you could test for FIP specifically.

Also, the cat eats fine. In fact, he eats too much because of all the different residents feeding him

I've attached two videos that sort of show his large abdomen. Does this look like FIP? I've also attached a photo of the two tests run by the vet.

Test.jpg

Last edited:

Mamanyt1953

Rules my home with an iron paw
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise