Very Frustrated, Urinary Issues

Beaux

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, I'm back again to talk about my cat Beaux and his urinary issues. I'm very frustrated that nobody can give me answers and as an unpaid intern, I can't afford to keep taking him in for urinalysis every few days.

Beaux is 2 y/o domestic shorthair cat. I got him when he was 8 weeks old. He never exhibited any problems besides being a clumsy eater until a few months before turning 2. He started squatting all over the house and peeing on my comforter. I didn't have any experience with this before and when I realized he was squatting and nothing was coming out, I took him to an emergency room. They told me he was partially blocked, but I couldn't afford to have him hospitalized. I called several other vets and found an awesome doctor that agreed to see him for a fraction of the price. I took him there and as he was being examined he got off the table and peed on the floor. They took a sample of that pee and that was the first time I was told he had struvite crystals. Since he had peed, he didn't need to be hospitalized or have a catheter inserted but was given antibiotics, pain medication, and Hills Prescription Urinary Diet. When I ran out of that food, I thought it would be okay to get him a non-prescription food from Purina that was made for urinary problems (my mistake).