Users of Royal Canin Urinary SO Food for FLUTD - Warning, Recent Problems being reported, September

red top rescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I have no personal experience with this but when I was considering trying this for the FLUTD cat I have here, I came across this link.  People who have been using it successfully for years are suddenly having their cats get sick with intestinal problems.  There is no recall YET but be careful especially if buying new bags.  The problem seems to be mainly with the dry food.  Read the reports and make your own decisions.

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/royal_canin.html

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
That is very worrying :eek:hno: Does anyone know if this is a worldwide issue, or if it's only affecting food from specific plants?

(I'm guessing there's no point in asking Royal Canin, as they're denying that the problem exists).

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Hmmm, complaints don't seem to be only for S/O.  Seems like they also include foods for sensitive stomachs.  But MAINLY S/O for cats (and dogs too).  Not good. 

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

red top rescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
That is very worrying
Does anyone know if this is a worldwide issue, or if it's only affecting food from specific plants?

(I'm guessing there's no point in asking Royal Canin, as they're denying that the problem exists).
In the complaints I read (only back to the beginning of June) there was one from Portugal and another from "Europe" who said all the RC she ever bought was made in Europe, "but they seem to be having the same problems in the U.S."   I think reporting may be more U.S. because we know about the agency, but if anyone anywhere googles "complaints about ________" they will surely get this site as one of their results.

bdk103

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise