Understanding and working with the Feral Cat

meowmmy_aprile

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Someone asked me to start a discussion on taming ferals. I will start by saying I am by no means an expert at this. I do have a bit of experience in doing this but as with anything there are always things that I can learn. 

Over the years I have managed to tame and re home both adult and kitten ferals. One of the first things is knowing that there are many types of what people consider "feral"  Some are truly feral and some are just unfortunate house cats who have been thrown out or escaped and ended up living outside. 

Before I describe the different types I want to first say that if you are interested in taking in Any cat from outside there are some very important rules to follow. These are not only for your safety but the cats as well.

Very Very Important. Never ever handle a Feral without first having it seen by a vet. They can and sometimes do carry many different illnesses and rabies that can be passed on to your animals or yourself. Make sure they are tested and have had their rabies vaccine before trying to handle at all even if them seem nice.  Once you have trapped it put it in a garage or covered area out of the elements, cover it, call your vet or the local cat rescue in your area. Now a days with the Internet it is very easy to find a local rescue in your area. I am lucky I have a mobile vet who comes out and does a quick check up and gives them their shots. I just recently found her and she has made my life so much easier with this. 

You can and sometimes will be bitten and attacked. Please be careful. They are only doing what is natural to them. They are protecting themselves. Imagine your were in their position you would claw, bite and attack to save yourself if you had to wouldn't you?