Trying to understand my cat - house moving

mmin

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi! This is not a thread to ask for advice or anything, because everything is okay now, but just thought i’d try to get some insight into the confusing mind of a cat. :yess:

i was an international student when i got my cat, so my cat was overseas with me for about a year and a half. When i graduated and it was time to go back to my home country, he had to come with me to 2 house shifts.
a) a temporary lodging (airbnb) while i left my apartment empty to sort out all the furnitures and stuff
b) actual home overseas: he had to take an 8 hour flight home with me

when we first shifted from old apartment to temporary lodging, it was terrible. He wouldnt eat much at all, pooped once in 3 days, and was just- stressed. After about a week at the temporary lodging, he slowly started to eat abit more (but nowhere near usual: about 30% of normal)

i was really worried cause figured it would be worse in the second shift: different climate, completely different surroundings, with new members of my family at home (he only saw them once when he was a baby and they came to visit me during Summer break) , an actual house as compared to the apartment he’s used to, and to top it all off, thats after a stressful 8 hour flight!

but for some weird reason—
Upon moving back to my actual home after the flight, he settled in so quickly??? Ate 50% that night we landed from the flight, and then the next day he was pretty much back to normal. Eating, pooping, drinking, playing.

I can’t make sense of this, but i am glad he’s back to normal now- 😅

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
Cats do learn from experience and it could be that having been through a move once he learned that it’s really not all that scary, and that you will be there with him.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise