Trying to find somewhere for a semi-feral cat

capybart

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Back in October I rescued a feral cat that I had been feeding in my yard for a couple months and made a post on this site about it. The advice was all very helpful and amazing and the cat (who I have named Beesoo) has been making wonderful progress! However, she still has a very long way to go.

When I first rescued her I had every intention of keeping her and giving her all the time she needs to become properly socialized. Unfortunately life plans never go the way you want them to, and I am going to be moving out of the country in the new year. I don't think I'll be able to take Beesoo with me because I don't think she will be socialized enough to the point of being able to go in a carrier on a plane with me, and I really do not want to traumatize her with that either!

When I first trapped her she was VERY scared and would just curl up and hide all day long. She was so scared that I could even touch her (although I knew not to because I didn't want to make her feel more scared). Since then she has made wonderful progress. She isn't nearly as scared anymore: she will hiss if I get too close to her, she sleeps in very vulnerable yet comfy positions when I am in the room with her, and in the evening she will come out of her box and eat/use the litter box while I'm in the room! She will still go back into hiding if I get up or move around too much, and I still am not able to pet her, but she lets me toss her treats and will eat them in front of me. She even recently began staying out of her box during daylight hours in the morning to sit by the window and watch the birds!