Took In Semi Feral Who Still Has Nocturnal Hunting Behavior..

2 cat servant

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Have a very sweet, semi feral barn cat that i've been feeding by my work place for about 2 years. Recently after taking her to vets(found out she was around 4 and 12 lbs) and got her a rabies shot and a shot for flea and allergy dermatitis, brought her home (live in a small apartment by a busy road) and she never wanted to do the safe room thing but gets along with my other 2. Problem is her nightly howling and window door pacing. Im sure its her hunting and nocturnal behavior, shes fine in the day time, even plays occasionally with another semi feral i rescued 2 years ago (have post on her from 2015, she never did this) Will she ever get better and not such strong urges, or do i need to take her back? I have on order the Comfort zone Feliway difusser, to see if that helps. Thank you. 13501601_10206496712272721_1776347433864747576_n.jpg

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
Has she been fixed? This behavior could be also caused by her longing for a mate.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

2 cat servant

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Not sure. Vet couldnt tell, because of no scar or tattoo. Vet suggest just wait to see if she goes in heat or get a hormone test (a blood test i just learned about that according to a website breeders mainly use and could tell if she was spayed, can also tell when in season) but it can cost $140 and up. She only does this at night till 4 or 5 am. Never saw her in heat when feeding her and playing with her at work, but still could have missed it.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
I'd bet that if there was no scar that she has not been spayed. If she was feral before, then she would never have gotten into a clinic to be spayed anyway.

2 cat servant

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise