TNR in this weather?

leeann77

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi! I'm new to caring for about 4-5 ferals this winter. The weather in Pittsburgh has been extremely cold lately. I decided not to start trapping them until the weather warmed up a bit- however, today I spotted a new male mating with my favorite little feral (which I thought was a boy- ha ha!). So now I'm in a panic because I read they are only pregnant for 9 weeks! Is it way too cold to TNR right now? I can borrow a dog crate and let her recover in my basement for a few days after.

Also, could I ask advice on the timing as far as trapping goes? Currently I'm working the 3pm to 11pm shift, then off next Wednesday and Thursday. If I try to trap Tuesday morning, they have to sit in the trap until Wed morning surgery. Or I guess I could do it on my off day Wednesday and spay on Thursday? I don't want them to be stuck in the trap for days. Although Alley Cat Allies seems to think they are fine in there.

I would welcome any advice!!!
Thanks,
Lee Ann

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Hi Lee Ann,

Now is the best time to do TNR. At any other time of year the female cats will either be pregnant, so you have to spay abort 
 or they will have kittens somewhere that will have to be without their Mum while she recovers. I prefer doing it in the cold weather because there is less chance of infection than in the summer months.

I used to trap in the evening, leave the cat in the trap covered with a blanket and tarp in the garage and then take them in to be spayed the next morning. They are OK in the trap for longer than that but you need to make sure they have some water and they are sheltered from the cold. If you're going to keep them in the trap for a day you need to lift it off the ground on a couple of bricks and put some newspaper underneath for when they pee. I use cardboard and some straw on the floor of the cage, this is more comfortable for them to stand on then the bare wire.