Swollen upper lip

amyg

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi! This is my first time here and I wanted to ask if any of you have ever heard of this problem. My 3 year old cat suddenly developed a very swollen upper lip. It sticks out compared to her bottom jaw and is swollen on both sides but more so on the left side. I can't see any injury and she's not in any obvious discomfort.
This started a couple of days ago and last night I noticed that she has a couple of raised marks on her chest on the right side. They look like raised welts - not much darker in color than her skin. Those seem to bother her a bit because she's been licking them, but she doesn't seem to mind me touching them.
I'm taking her to the vet this week, but until I can get her there I thought maybe someone might know what this is. She is eating and drinking just fine, is very energetic, and seems very content. I'm obviously more disturbed by all this than she is!!
Thank you in advance for any information you can give me!!

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
Hi Amy and welcome to the forums!

I guess a vet should indeed be consulted for this.

Does she go outdoors? Could it be that the swollen lip is due to some insect bite? Maybe it's not related to the marks on her chest.

Please let us know what the vet says!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

amyg

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise