Stress related constipation?

avni

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello!

not sur eif this should go in Behavior or Health, feel free to move if this isnt that place!

I've been doing a slow intro for my cat and new kitten for about 4 months and recently, after advice from here, let them both have free roam to allow the older one to teach the kitten some manners/boundaries before he gets too old.

Nimbus, the older cat, hasnt pooped in about 1-2 days? Could this be due to stress of having the kitten physically around so much more? She still not a fan of him (hissing/growling/swatting). What can i do to ease her stress? If the lack of poop continues, should i add miralax to her wet food(how long should i wait to add it?? The foster mom who had her had to do this because she got constipated from stress-related overgrooming.

Thanks!

Muggs

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello!
I use miralax/restoralax with one of my guys. He seems to get stress related constipation so when I see this starting I treat it once a day for a week or so. I would say if it’s already been a day or too since Nimbus has pooped, I would at it to the food now. There’s also a Product called Feliway that helps reduce stress among cats. I use the room spray rather than the plug in.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

avni

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello!
I use miralax/restoralax with one of my guys. He seems to get stress related constipation so when I see this starting I treat it once a day for a week or so. I would say if it’s already been a day or too since Nimbus has pooped, I would at it to the food now. There’s also a Product called Feliway that helps reduce stress among cats. I use the room spray rather than the plug in.
Thanks! Unfortunately, feliway has had no effect on her ): im hoping time away from the kitten at night and when im at work helps her relax. I dont let them around each other unsupervised

Muggs

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise