Started Off Short Hair, Became Long Hair (especially the tail)

claydust

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I will start off that I know our 8 month old Freyja is not a pure bred cat.  She was adopted from the SPCA and we know her mother is a typical domestic short hair.

She started off looking like a short, or perhaps a medium hair kitten;

At 8 moths old, she looks like this;

I am no expert but the only cat I know that starts off with a shorter hair tail and grows a "fox tail" is a Somali.

Wondering if it is possible that there's some Somali in the feral gene pool. or is there some other possibility?

weebeasties

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
One of our cats did the short to long hair magic trick too. Don't think there is any Somali in him.

From this...

To this

Also, another TCS member @Raina21  has a beautiful kitty named Tesla who did a "hair switch" too. Whatever her ancestry, Freyja is adorable!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

claydust

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Nice B&W guy :)

That's interesting, I always thought the hair length was pretty much set when they were kittens.

Hard to picture Gigi, here as anything but a fluff ball as a small kitten;

We don't know for sure, she came to us at approx. 5 years of age, she and Freyja get along quite well.

Here is another recent picture of Freyja;

As can be seen, I like torties ;)

piano cat

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Maybe it's a tortie thing?  My friend's cat did that too.  Her's was seasonal changes, in winter she seemed to have three times as much hair as she did in summer and it was longer, much longer.  We have pretty cold winters here and she did go outside in daytime.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

claydust

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I should have mentioned, it looks like Freyja might grow to be a big girl.

Here she is from a few weeks ago at 8 months of age, with our 4 year old orange guy, Tim, for comparison;

Tonya97

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise