Sore Kitten Bum

surya

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Do you recommend putting anything on a kittens little bottom that is sore from having diarrhea?

desert82

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
That poor baby. I'm not experienced in this at all but hopefully someone with some more experience should be along soon to help you out. I know coconut oil is ok for moms nipples if they are dry but not sure about for a kittens bottom. I would think it's ok. Or maybe a small amount of Vaseline would help. Has the diaharra cleared up or the issue that's causing it? Kitten been wormed or checked for any parasites that could be causing the diaharra?

Miry-Mom

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My kitten had diarrhea when I first rescued her along with road rash. I had to take her to the vet and they put her on antibiotics to clear up any infections, but when I asked about what to put on her poor raw bum, they told me to just be vigilant when she went to her litter box and help her keep her bottom as clean as possible. I bought a few baby washcloths and whenever possible I'd scoop her up and extremely gently wipe down her bottom with warm water. It took a few days, but her little hiney healed.

Someone else might have some good ideas about other remedies. Hang in there!

Here's a post on another thread that might also be of some help.