Socializing Feral Kittens - Is Feeling Like There Is No Hope Is Par For The Course?

kar5318

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm a newbie here. But after reading everything I could find on Google for the last week about TNR and socializing feral kittens, I wound up here, and it looks to be a great resource!

I've read a number of the threads here, but I still think to an extent my question is unanswered.

I rescued 3 feral kittens from my backyard 1 week ago. They are around 7-8 weeks in my estimation, and despite how many times I keep seeing things like "They can totally be socialized!" or "Oh no that's not too old!" and "You'll be fine, they always act scared at first" I legitimately feel like there is no way these terrified kittens could turn into social pets. It seems like everyone must be lying to me!

So here's my question: Does everyone feel this way when you're just starting the socialization process? That progress is soooo slow that socialization can't possibly work? That there is no possible way these kittens can make such a drastic transformation.

I've just been feeling so discouraged lately, so I'd love any empathy or encouraging words to know I'm not alone! Thanks All!

I can provide more background if anyone is curious.

Attachments

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I would age them at 3 maybe up to 4 months personally. Yes, it is tough to socialize ferals and it does feel like a never ending road. You have triple trouble because they will continue to mime each other. So they may socialize better if you separate them at times. Before you know it though they will be socialized and you'll look back and wonder why you thought it was so hard.

My little Rocket came to me feral at 4 months old. This was her first day with us. She was post bath and pretty sure in shock at what was happening in this photo: