So Much Controversy

Erin80

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I thought I was doing the right thing by starting my two on raw....but the more I google, the more I see sooooo much negativity surrounding it. So now I’m questioning my decision. I have 14 lbs of raw turkey in the freezer, and google is making me afraid to use it! So much talk of cross contamination. I thaw it in the fridge in a Tupperware. I feed them on their plates. It all gets washed, just like when I feed canned.....so I don’t see a huge danger to us humans? Now I’m unsure if I should I stick to raw after this batch or just go back to the good quality canned food.

dhammagirl

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
The concerns about cross contamination are a bit exaggerated, IMO.
I’ve been feeding raw, ground and chunks and whole prey, for about three years and haven’t had any issues.

I think some of the fear mongering is from the uninformed, and some from manufacturers of regular commercial pet foods.

But if you don’t want to have any worries, a good quality canned food is the next best thing.

daftcat75

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Krista's no longer eating on a schedule so we're taking a break from raw. But when we did raw, here's how I did things to minimize risk and exposure.