Six Week Old Kittens-caked On Feces

marmoset

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I have a set of foster kittens that are about six weeks old (brought in as orphans so actual age is not known). They are having diarrhea. One of them is particularly messy. He will poop and then sit in it immediately after. I am home and with them most of the time so I usually can get to him to clean him quickly but when I get up in the morning he's covered in dried on feces. I've been using warm moist paper towels to clean him but it's really not removing the dried on poop on the underside of his tail and bottoms of his hind legs.

This is my first time with kittens this young that did not have a mother around to do round the clock grooming. I'm very nervous about bathing a kitten that young. Is there a middle ground? A way to remove this poop without soaking the body of the kitten? I don't even want to fully wet his back half.

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
At that age, if they're not very weak, I'd bathe them/him. As long as he's kept warm enough afterward he should be fine even if you have to bathe his back end twice a day. Use a mild shampoo like Johnson's, it shouldn't cause any trouble.

I raised one orphan who was longhaired and messy and basically needed bathing after every potty time and mealtime. I felt bad bathing her so often but she grew up just fine. I didn't get her head wet if I didn't need to. . .I'm not sure that made a difference but it made me feel better anyway.

danteshuman

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I would just crank up the heat to a sweltering 85 and rinse his poopy bottom half off with warm water, towel dry, then wrap and hold in a dry towel for an extra 10-20 minutes, then release him in his very warm kitten room. No reason to use soap that can be drying unless necessary.