Should I proceed with a second cat adoption?

Shisuka

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, this is my first time posting here. I just adopted my first cat yesterday. She is a 2 year old female and had kittens one of two months ago.
I initially went to the shelter meaning to adopt a really sweet black kitten (2 months, male) but came out with another cat. During my time at the shelter I was really indecisive because I wanted both and both were so different. One was an adult and the other a kitten that I had been looking to adopt. Then, the shelter told us that they would be a perfect match if adopted together. I ended up taking Shiva (the adult) and said I would think about taking the kitten. So, I arrived home and did a lot of research. I read that two cats are better than one because they keep each other entertained and so on. I then talked to my mom and we agreed to go pick the kitten up. We called the shelter and agreed on a date but now I'm having second thoughts. Please note that I'm a really anxious person, I don't want to do anything wrong. I learned that the hard way since some time ago I had to return a dog to the shelter...
Any advice would be appreciated

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
There is a typo there so I'm not 100% sure but it sounds like the nursing is done and the kittens are gone. Not sure how long ago. If she isn't spayed, and the kittens were only recently separated from her, and her hormones are still going, I suppose she might insta-accept the kitten. I'm not knowledgeable about that, so I'm going to ignore it! If you provide the timing, someone else will fill in that knowledge!