Shift workers and cats

Pixie81

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello

I'm a cat mom who is a shift worker... I do 12 hour shifts and its a weird cycle as sometimes they will be a day shift 7am to 7pm or night shift which is 7pm to 7am. I live on my own at present, plus my two fur babies. Just curious as to how many other kitty owners have shift work and how do your cats respond to it? I I am a casual so it means I don't have a set schedule at the moment. I know cats LOVE consistency but its super hard to get that in my work schedule at the moment. I was wondering how other people's cats get used to their owners being at home sometimes, and then other times not? On my days off I always try to play a lot with my cats and be around for them, but I always get anxious when I am leaving them for work, thinking are they gonna be okay?

Its my first time being a cat mom of two furbabies where I am in a situation where I am living alone and having to go to work while the cats are home. When I come home, one of them sometimes meows, but sometimes is indifferent... the other cat never seems fussed and doesn't make a big deal that I have been away... I just hate that my schedule isn't consistent but its kinda out of my hands at the moment..

Any thoughts?

Tina

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Its true cats sync up to their owners to some degree, but as long as the cat's food is at semi regular hours, the cat will be totally fine. If you can't manage semi-regular hours for feedings, investing in an automatic feeder might be a good idea. Remember, cats sleep a lot more than 12 hours, in mostly little bits, so it will never be a problem for a cat to get up for at least a little bit an interact with you. They are very adaptible that way. At worst, if you get home when they are in the middle of one of their few deep naps, they may ignore you for a few hours.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Pixie81

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise