Separating cats

kline

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi there! I'm looking into adopting a new kitten, however my roommates already have a 2 year old cat. They are concerned about how the cats will interact with each other, and eventually if they bond how will we seperate them. My lease ends in 3 months, and their cat is very timid. I really don't see this cat warming up to this kitten very quickly, she even hasn't warmed up to me and I've been living with her for over a year. I am a Vet nurse and have fallen in love with one of the rescue kittens that have been surrendered to us, she has such a calm and easy going personality and I think she'll adapt to change quite easily. I'm not worried about how to introduce the cats, but I guess my question is do you think we have to worry about them bonding in such a short period of time, it would be so terrible to see either one of them sad or even depressed about missing the other.

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
They may or may not bond in that period of time but in such a short time I doubt it would be a close bond. Kittens are very adaptable and a couple months isn’t going to make that much difference to her and the adult would probably be in the stage where she tolerates the kitten but isn’t attached to it. So I would go with your heart and adopt.

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi! Welcome!!
their cat is very timid.
I'm coming from the other direction. As I understand your post, your roommates aren't thrilled about this precisely because their cat is timid and they don't want to put her through the stress of the high energy of a kitten, whether that kitten has a calm personality or otherwise.

Are you moving or are they when the lease is up? I guess what I'm getting at is that I think you might want to give your roommates concerns more consideration regarding their cat's wellbeing, rather than trying to figure out a future possibility.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper