Semi-feral kitten missing

erin8159

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi.. I have been caring for a young cat for a few months now. She was scared of me at first, but after a few weeks of feeding and trying to get close, not only did she start letting us pet her, but she basically became an indoor cat. She would show up every day and hang out, cuddle, nuzzle, climb all over my partner and me. We went away once for two nights and when we got back she greeted us both for about an hour. She sits and watches TV with us every night. By all means, we were very bonded.
One night, she got up off the couch and walked outside. She normally slept outside, so this wasnt unusual. Except.. she hasn't returned. this was 3 nights ago.

The worst part about all of this is that we are moving in 9 days. We live in Hawaii and are moving to Florida.. so not only are we moving, but we're leaving an ISLAND. We can't exactly ask the next owner to look out for her, as we have been living in an airbnb and the owner is taking his home back for vacation rentals only.

What can I do? Is there hope for her? Why would a semi-feral cat disappear?

One thing to note is that two other ferals started coming around. Our girl is social, these two are not. I've seen our girl around these cats before, but the other cats weren't coming around much while she was in the picture. Is this a territorial thing?

And lastly, we've been searching high and low for her. We search during the day and at night, calling for her, shaking the bag, etc.

We just want our girl to come home in time to make it off the island with us :(

Attachments

Mr. Meow

Special needs cat expert.
Super Cat
Purraise
Put out food that smells as strong as possible - tuna is a great example. Only other thing I can suggest is to get a live trap and if you catch one of the other cats, letting them go might deter them from coming back, at least for a few days, giving your girl a better chance of coming back.

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise